You are here: Home > Honors & Awards > Research Awards

Our faculty have received prestigious national awards for their research activities. Click the headlines below for recent examples:

Date Headline
August 18, 2015 Michelle O'Malley named a top innovator under 35 by Tech Review
June 12, 2015 Brad Chmelka elected as Foreign Member of Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences
June 10, 2015 Songi Han receives Bessel Prize from the Humboldt Foundation
March 24, 2015 Frank Doyle wins 2015 AAAC Control Engineering Practice Award
March 15, 2015 Probing complex flows with neutrons
February 11, 2015 Matt Helgeson receives Northrup Grumman Excellence in Teaching Award
February 5, 2015 Samir Mitragotri elected to National Academy of Engineering
January 15, 2015 Scott Lynn receives National Engineers Week Scholarship
December 8, 2014 Gary Leal selected to receive the G.I. Taylor Medal
December 7, 2014 Todd Squires receives inaugural GSOFT Early Career Award
September 19, 2014 Matt Helgeson receives NSF CAREER Award
August 18, 2014 Gary Leal receives the 2014 Warren K. Lewis Award from AIChE
April 1, 2014 Scott Shell receives 2014 Academic Senate Distinguished Teaching Award
February 3, 2014 Jacob Israelachvili awarded the world's highest award in tribology
January 27, 2014 Professor Tom Soh elected Fellow of American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering
January 14, 2014 Professor Helgeson given NSF CAREER award
December 19, 2013 Professor Mitragotri elected to National Academy of Inventors
November 26, 2013 Two UCSB ChE Professors elected AAAS fellows
November 7, 2013 Dong-Woog Lee awarded the Doh Wonsuk Memorial Award
October 17, 2013 Professor Mellichamp honored among most downloaded authors
September 23, 2013 Nikolai Petsev Awarded Dow Discovery Fellowship
May 17, 2013 Professor O'Malley Wins DOE Early Career Award
May 1, 2013 Baron Peters given Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Award
April 11, 2013 Professor Michael Gordon named 2013 Caltech's Vaughan Lecturer
April 2, 2013 Todd Squires: 2013 Mid-Career Award, American Electrophoresis Society
December 3, 2012 Professors Israelachvili & Mitragotri elected AAAS Fellows
December 1, 2012 Mansi Seth named 2012 Schlinger Fellow
November 8, 2012 NSF-Funded CalTeach to Support Future Science Teachers
November 7, 2012 Nishit Doshi named Young Chemical Engineer of the Year
September 23, 2012 Nirala Singh awarded 2012 Air Products graduate fellowship
August 21, 2012 Jacob Israelachvili Wins 2012 William H. Walker Award
August 20, 2012 Joseph Zasadzinski Wins 2013 Avanti Award in Lipids
May 17, 2012 UCSB Alum Sam Shaner named NEUP fellow
April 30, 2012 Carolyn Mills named Beckman Scholar
April 23, 2012 Ed Kramer elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences
April 11, 2012 Matt Helgeson named 2012 Distinguished Young Rheologist
February 15, 2012 Scott Shell awarded a 2012 Sloan Research Fellowship
January 29, 2012 Todd Squires to give the 2012 Dudley Saville Memorial Lecture at Princeton
January 10, 2012 Frank Doyle: Santa Barbara Chamber of Commerce's Innovator of the Year
October 10, 2011 Michael Doherty wins the 2012 E. V. Murphree Award
October 10, 2011 Songi Han wins NIH Director's New Innovator Award
June 21, 2011 Frank Doyle receives AIChE David Himmelblau Award
April 21, 2011 Leal and Fredrickson elected fellows of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences
February 3, 2011 Frank Doyle elected AAAS Fellow
November 19, 2010 National Research Council Ranks UCSB ChE 2nd in Nation
November 17, 2010 Michael Gordon is named a 2010 Packard Fellow
October 14, 2010 Su-Mi Hur wins 2010 Doh Wonsuk Memorial Award
August 9, 2010 NSF Awards Additional $4 Million for UCSB-China Partnership
June 28, 2010 Duncan Mellichamp receives the CACHE Award from the ASEE ChE Division.
June 27, 2010 Frank Doyle receives the ASEE ChE Division Lectureship Award.
May 14, 2010 The UCSB Staff Citation of Excellence Award
April 26, 2010 Ph.D. student, Su-Mi Hur, is awarded an IBM Fellowship
April 24, 2010 Songi Han receives a 2010 Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Award
April 2, 2010 Ed Kramer and Glenn Fredrickson receive the 2010 Council for Chemical Research Collaboration Research Award.
January 30, 2010 Mike Gordon receives an NSF CAREER Award
September 28, 2009 Scott Shell receives an NSF CAREER Award
September 24, 2009 Mike Gordon receives Northrop Grumman 2009 Excellence in Teaching Award
September 15, 2009 Todd Squires and Aditya Khair receive the Francois Frenkiel Award of the APS Division of Fluid Dynamics.
July 23, 2009 Frank Doyle is named a Fellow of the International Federation of Automatic Control.
May 5, 2009 Todd Squires receives the Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Award
March 17, 2009 Jacob Israelachvili is the 2009 recipient of the ACS Award in Colloid and Surface Chemistry
March 17, 2009 Ed Kramer is elected a Fellow of the Materials Research Society
March 17, 2009 Frank Doyle is elected a Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE)
January 13, 2009 Susannah Scott Named AAAS Fellow
December 5, 2008 Baron Peters Chosen to Give Plenary Lecture at International Conference
October 23, 2008 Doherty and Israelachvili are selected for AIChE's Top 100.
October 18, 2008 Jacob Israelachvili receives the 2009 ACS Award in Colloid and Surface Chemistry.
June 27, 2008 Matthew Tirrell selected for the AIChE William H. Walker Award
June 27, 2008 Glenn Fredrickson receives the 2007 Polymer Physics Prize of the American Physical Society.
June 27, 2008 Scott Shell receives the Dreyfus Foundation New Faculty Award.
June 26, 2008 Dale Seborg elected to the Process Automation Hall of Fame
April 22, 2008 AIChE Student Chapter places third in the regional Chem-E-Car competition
April 4, 2008 Todd Squires Wins Prestigious Beckman Young Investigator Award
March 7, 2008 Frank Doyle made a Fellow of the IEEE
February 1, 2008 L. Gary Leal chosen as the 2008 Lacey Lecturer at Caltech
October 2, 2007 Matt Tirrell is selected for AIChE's William H. Walker Award
April 20, 2007 Patrick Daugherty Receives the 2007 ACS Young Investigator Award
April 17, 2007 Department Ranked 9th in the U.S., 2nd Among UC ChE Departments
January 13, 2007 Todd Squires Wins Prestigious NSF Career Award
January 13, 2007 Nobel U? UCSB Ranks 2nd Among California Universities in Nobel Prizes for 1997-2006.
January 6, 2007 College of Engineering Ranked First in Graduate Programs by The Princeton Review
November 27, 2006 Duncan and Suzanne Mellichamp Receive Santa Barbara Medal
October 16, 2006 Glenn Fredrickson Wins APS Polymer Prize
October 12, 2006 Gary Leal is selected as an 2006 Distinguished Scholar Lecturer at ASU.
August 1, 2006 Patrick Daugherty Receives Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Award
April 10, 2006 Gary Leal is selected for the 2006 Pirkey Lecturership in Chemical Engineering at UT-Austin.
March 15, 2006 Bud Homsy Elected to the National Academy of Engineering
January 1, 2006 Samir Mitragotri Presents Henrick C. van Ness Award Lecture
November 13, 2005 Sanjoy Banerjee Wins AIChE Donald A. Kern Award
July 18, 2005 Frank Doyle Receives AIChE Computing in Chemical Engineering Award
June 13, 2005 ChE Professors Collaborate on NIH Nanotechnology Grant
March 1, 2005 Bud Homsy Receives APS Fluid Dynamics Prize
April 22, 2004 Jacob Israelachvili Elected to National Academy of Sciences
January 1, 2004 Jacob Israelachvili Wins Three Awards
January 1, 2004 Michael Doherty Wins Three Awards
February 3, 2003 Glenn Fredrickson is Elected to the National Academy of Engineering