People

Faculty

Name Title Office Phone and Email
Mahdi Abu-Omar

Mellichamp Chair, Green Chemistry
Professor, Chemistry and (by courtesy) Chemical Engineering

3241 Chemistry (805) 893-5043
abuomar@chem.ucsb.edu
Christopher M. Bates

Assistant Professor, Materials and (by courtesy) Chemical Engineering

1518 Engineering II (805) 893-5383
bates@engineering.ucsb.edu
Bradley Chmelka

Professor

3327 Engineering II (805) 893-3673
bradc@engineering.ucsb.edu
Phillip Christopher

Associate Professor and Mellichamp Chair of Sustainable Manufacturing
(Arriving Fall 2017)

Siddharth Dey

Assistant Professor

3341 Engineering II dey@engineering.ucsb.edu
Michael Doherty

Professor

3323 Engineering II (805) 893-5309
mfd@engineering.ucsb.edu
Glenn Fredrickson

Mitsubishi Chemical Professor

3105 MRL Bldg (805) 893-8308
ghf@mrl.ucsb.edu
Michael Gordon

Associate Professor

3351 Engineering II (805) 893-7346
mjgordon@engineering.ucsb.edu
Songi Han

Professor

4614 PSBN (805) 893-4858
songi@chem.ucsb.edu
Matthew Helgeson

Assistant Professor

3337 Engineering II (805) 893-3372
helgeson@engineering.ucsb.edu
Eric McFarland

Professor

3331 Engineering II (805) 893-4343
Samir Mitragotri

Mellichamp Professor of Systems Biology

samir@engineering.ucsb.edu
Arnab Mukherjee

Assistant Professor

3349 Engineering II (805) 893-5137
arnabm@engineering.ucsb.edu
Michelle O'Malley

Assistant Professor

3343 Engineering II (805) 893-4769
momalley@engineering.ucsb.edu
Baron Peters

Associate Professor

3339 Engineering II (805) 284-8293
baronp@engineering.ucsb.edu
Susannah Scott

Mellichamp Professor of Sustainability

3325 Engineering II and Building 489, Room 101A (805) 893-5606
sscott@engineering.ucsb.edu
Rachel Segalman

Edward Noble Kramer Professor
Department Chair

3353 and 3333 Engineering II (805) 893-3709
segalman@engineering.ucsb.edu
M. Scott Shell

Associate Professor
Department Vice Chair

3321 Engineering II (805) 893-4346
shell@engineering.ucsb.edu
Todd Squires

Professor
Department Vice Chair

3347 Engineering II (805) 893-7383
squires@engineering.ucsb.edu

Adjunct Faculty

Name Title Office Phone and Email
Patrick Daugherty

Adjunct Professor

psd@engineering.ucsb.edu
David Gay

Adjunct Professor
Director of Technology, UCSB Institute for Collaborative Biotechnologies

2704 Ellison Hall (805) 893-4675
david.gay@icb.ucsb.edu
Howard C. Zisser

Adjunct Professor

(805) 682-7638
hzisser@engineering.ucsb.edu

Emeriti

Name Title Office Phone and Email
Jacob Israelachvili

Professor Emeritus
Research Professor

Building 570 Room 1200 (805) 893-8407
jacob@engineering.ucsb.edu
L. Gary Leal

Professor Emeritus
Research Professor

3329 Engineering II (805) 893-8510
lgl20@engineering.ucsb.edu
Gene Lucas

Professor Emeritus

gene.lucas@ucsb.edu
Duncan Mellichamp

Professor Emeritus

3336 Engineering II (805) 893-2821
dmell@engineering.ucsb.edu
Robert Rinker

Professor Emeritus

rinker@engineering.ucsb.edu
Orville Sandall

Professor Emeritus

(805) 893-2908
sandall@engineering.ucsb.edu
Dale Seborg

Professor Emeritus
Research Professor

(805) 893-3352
seborg@engineering.ucsb.edu
Theo Theofanous

Professor Emeritus
Director, Center for Risk Studies & Safety

(805) 689-1311
theo@theofanous.net

Staff

Name Title Office Phone and Email
Phyllis Ayers

Assistant to Professor Jacob Israelachvili

Building 570 Room 1201 (805) 893-8407
payers@engineering.ucsb.edu
Nicole Becker

Student Affairs Assistant

3357 Engineering II (805) 893-3412
becker@engineering.ucsb.edu
Mike Best

Management Services Officer

3355A Engineering II (805) 893-4131
mike@engineering.ucsb.edu
Jordan Boncquet

Payroll Analyst

3357B Engineering II (805) 893-5146
jordan@engineering.ucsb.edu
George Crespo

Computer & Network Tech

3222 Engineering II (805) 893-5911
george@engineering.ucsb.edu
Erica Diaz

Student Affairs Manager

3357A Engineering II (805) 893-8671
erica@engineering.ucsb.edu
Michelle FitzGerald

Purchasing Assistant

3357B Engineering II (805) 893-7727
mfitzgerald@engineering.ucsb.edu
David Gragg

Associate Development Engineer

3109 Engineering II (805) 893-3212
tongaroa@engineering.ucsb.edu
Kit Holmlund

Extramural Funds Manager

3361A Engineering II (805) 893-2950
kit@engineering.ucsb.edu
Debbie Kleinpeter

Assistant for the Mellichamp Sustainability Cluster

Building 489 Room 101 (805) 893-8614
debbie@engineering.ucsb.edu
Kai Kristiansen

Associate Project Scientist, Israelachvili Lab

Building 570 (805) 893-5268
kai@engineering.ucsb.edu
Allie Olympius

Faculty Assistant
Communications & Seminar Coordinator

3355 Engineering II (805) 893-2214
allie@engineering.ucsb.edu
Dano Pagenkopf

Undergraduate Lab Manager

1161 & 1165 Engineering II (805) 893-3251
dano@engineering.ucsb.edu
Beverly Perkins

Contracts & Grants Analyst

3361A Engineering II (805) 893-2950
beverly@engineering.ucsb.edu
Cynthia Rojo

Chair's Assistant

3353 Engineering II (805) 893-5438
crojo@engineering.ucsb.edu
Beth Thomas

Academic Personnel Analyst

3350 Engineering II (805) 893-8692
beth@engineering.ucsb.edu
Melissa Walker

Faculty Assistant
Communications & Seminar Coordinator

3350 Engineering II (805) 893-8692
walker@engineering.ucsb.edu

Visiting Scholars

Name Title Office Phone and Email
Fangwen Cheng

Visiting Scholar, Scott Lab

Building 489 chengfangwen95@gmail.com
Mengkui Cui

Visiting Scholar, Israelachvili Lab

cuimk@shanghaitech.edu.cn
Eyal Dassau

Researcher, Doyle Lab

 

(805) 693-4727
dassau@engr.ucsb.edu
Frank Doyle

Researcher

Dean, Paulson School of Engineering and Applied Sciences, Harvard

dean@seas.harvard.edu
Michaela Dumberger

Visiting Scholar, Gordon Lab

Michaela.dumberger@tum.de
Pauline Gaillard

Visiting Scholar, Gordon Lab

pauline.gaillard@live.fr
Florian Gebhard

Visiting Scholar, Helgeson Lab

3211 Engineering II Flogebhard@web.de
Dongwon Hwang

Visiting Scholar, Scott Lab

dwhwang0427@gmail.com
Praveen Kumar

Visiting Scholar, Scott Lab

3411 ESB (805) 724-9115
praveen@engineering.ucsb.edu
Lynne McCusker

Visiting Scholar, Chmelka Lab

mccusker@engineering.ucsb.edu
Susu Ren

Visiting Scholar, Israelachvili Lab

renss@shanghaitech.edu.cn
Yuanyuan Sun

Visiting Scholar, Doherty Lab

sunyyuam@126.com
Na Sun

Visiting Scholar, Israelachvili Lab

Building 570 (805) 893-8407
nsun@bit.edu.cn
Julia Wohland

Visiting Scholar, Scott Lab

3217 ESB julia.wohland@rwth-aachen.de
Maria Yliruka

Visiting Scholar, Doherty Lab

ylirukam@student.ethz.ch
Chunming Zheng

Visiting Scholar, Scott Lab

3328 ESB zhengchunming@tjpu.edu
Peng Zhu

Visiting Scholar, Doherty Lab

peng_zhu@engineering.ucsb.edu

Postdocs

Name Title Office Phone and Email
Roberto Andresen Eguiluz

Postsdoctoral Scholar, Israelachvili Lab

Building 570 (805) 893-5268
randresen@engineering.ucsb.edu
Amrita Banerjee

Postdoctoral Scholar, Mitragotri Lab

1229 Elings Hall abanerjee@engineering.ucsb.edu
Josh Bartels

Postdoctoral Scholar, Segalman and Helgeson Labs

3228 Engineering II jbartels@mrl.ucsb.edu
Colin Bridges

Postdoctoral Scholar, Segalman Lab

3228 Engineering II colinbridges@mrl.ucsb.edu
Emily Davidson

Postdoctoral Scholar, Segalman Lab

edavidson@engineering.ucsb.edu
Doriv Knop

Postdoctoral Scholar, O'Malley Lab

dorivknop@cnsi.ucsb.edu
Vinu Krishnan

Postdoctoral Scholar, Mitragotri Lab 

1219 Elings Hall (330) 780-7523
vinu@engr.ucsb.edu
Christian Leitold

Postdoctoral Scholar, Peters Lab

3218 Engineering II christian.leitold@gmail.com
Wei Li

Postdoctoral Scholar, Fredrickson Lab

MRL Building wel208@mrl.ucsb.edu
Shubhaditya Majumdar

Postdoctoral Scholar, Segalman Lab

3228 Engineering II shubhadm@engineering.ucsb.edu
Harishankar Manikantan

Postdoctoral Scholar, Squires Lab

3332 Engineering II hmanikantan@engineering.ucsb.edu
Soupitak Pal

Postdoctoral Scholar, Odette Lab

soupitak@engineering.ucsb.edu
Nick Peng

Postdoctoral Scholar, O'Malley Lab

xpeng@engineering.ucsb.edu
Long Qi

Postdoctoral Scholar, Scott Lab

3217 ESB lqi@chem.ucsb.edu
G N Manjunatha Reddy

Postdoctoral Scholar, Chmelka Lab

3324 Engineering II gnm.reddy@mrl.ucsb.edu
Nino Ruocco

Postdoctoral Scholar, Helgeson Lab

nino.ruocco@gmail.com
Chandi Sasmal

Postdoctoral Scholar, Leal Lab

3235 Engineering II chandisasmal@engineering.ucsb.edu
Nan Shi

Postdoctoral Scholar, Squires Lab

vincentshinan@gmail.com
Shizhao Su

Postdoctoral Scholar, McFarland Lab

3307 Engineering II ssu@engineering.ucsb.edu
Bas van Ravensteijn

Postdoctoral Scholar, Helgeson Lab

3334 Engineering II ravensteijn@engineering.ucsb.edu
Ian Williams

Postdoctoral Scholar, Squires Lab

3334 Engineering II ian.williams@engineering.ucsb.edu

Graduate Students

Name Title Office Phone and Email
Luke Andriano

Graduate Student, Leal and Fredrickson Labs

lukeandriano@umail.ucsb.edu
Anirudha Banerjee

Graduate Student, Squires Lab

anirudhabanerjee@umail.ucsb.edu
Tsatsral Battsengel

Graduate Student, Chmelka Lab

tsatsral@umail.ucsb.edu
Alexandra Bayles

Gaduate Student, Helgeson and Squires Labs

avbayles@umail.ucsb.edu
Shona Becwar

Graduate Student, Chmelka and Han Labs

sbecwar@umail.ucsb.edu
Zachariah Berkson

Graduate Student, Chmelka and Israelachvili Labs

zberkson@umail.ucsb.edu
Joel Bozekowski

Graduate Student, Daugherty Lab

jdb@umail.ucsb.edu
Jennifer Brown

Graduate Student, O'Malley Lab

jenniferbrown@umail.ucsb.edu
Michael Burroughs

Graduate Student, Helgeson and Leal Labs

mcburroughs@umail.ucsb.edu
Nicholas Cadirov

Graduate Student, Israelachvili Lab

ncadirov@umail.ucsb.edu
Lesley Chan

Graduate Student, Gordon Lab

lesleychan@umail.ucsb.edu
Chih-Cheng (Peter) Chang

Graduate Student, Squires Lab

chihcheng@umail.ucsb.edu
Szu-Ying (Sandy) Chen

Graduate Student, Israelachvili Lab

szuying@umail.ucsb.edu
Alex Chialastri

Graduate Student, Dey Lab

alexchialastri@umail.ucsb.edu
Patrick Corona

Graduate Student, Helgeson Lab

corona@umail.ucsb.edu
Scott Danielsen

Graduate Student, Segalman and Fredrickson Labs

sdanielsen@mrl.ucsb.edu
Elizabeth Decolvenaere

Graduate Student, Gordon Lab

elizabeth@umail.ucsb.edu
George Degen

Graduate Student, Israelachvili and Shea Labs

gdegen@umail.ucsb.edu
Howard Dobbs

Graduate Student, Chmelka and Israelachvili Labs

howarddobbs@umail.ucsb.edu
Thomas Farmer

Graduate Student, Doherty and Chmelka Labs

thomasfarmer@umail.ucsb.edu
Julia Fisher

Graduate Student, Chmelka and Han Labs

juliafisher@umail.ucsb.edu
Jeffrey Frumkin

Graduate Student, Doherty Lab

jfrumkin@umail.ucsb.edu
Jan Garcia

Graduate Student, Fredrickson Lab

janulric@umail.ucsb.edu
Sean Gilmore

Graduate Student, O'Malley Lab

seangilmore@umail.ucsb.edu
Chung-ta Han

Graduate Student, Han Lab

chungtahan@umail.ucsb.edu
Dakota Hanemann-Rawlings

Graduate Student, Segalman and Chabinyc Labs

dakota00@umail.ucsb.edu
John Henske

Graduate Student, O'Malley Lab

johnhenske@umail.ucsb.edu
Richard Hermann

Graduate Student, Gordon Lab

rhermann@umail.ucsb.edu
Kelly Ibsen

Graduate Student, Daugherty Lab

kibsen@umail.ucsb.edu
Matthew Idso

Graduate Student, Chmelka Lab

midso@umail.ucsb.edu
Jun Hee Jang

Graduate Student, Abu-Omar Lab

jjang@umail.ucsb.edu
Kartik Kamat

Graduate Student, Peters Lab

kartik_kamat@umail.ucsb.edu
Salman Khan

Graduate Student, Peters and Scott Labs

salman@umail.ucsb.edu
Vikram Khanna

Graduate Student, Doherty Lab

vikram_khanna@umail.ucsb.edu
Ryan Ley

Graduate Student, Gordon Lab

ryanley@umail.ucsb.edu
Jimmy Liu

Graduate Student, Fredrickson Lab

j_liu@engr.ucsb.edu
Brian Lynch

Graduate Student, Shell and Leal Labs

blynch@umail.ucsb.edu
Daniel Mamerow

Graduate Student, Soh Lab

dmamerow@umail.ucsb.edu
Jonathan Martin

Graduate Student, Fredrickson Lab

j_m_m@umail.ucsb.edu
Samantha McCuskey

Graduate Student, Segalman and Bazan Labs

smccuskey@umail.ucsb.edu
Jacob Monroe

Graduate Student, Shell Lab

jimonroe@umail.ucsb.edu
Hyunjin Moon

Graduate Student, Scott Lab

hmoon@umail.ucsb.edu
Tuan Nguyen

Graduate Student, Helgeson Lab

tuan_nguyen@umail.ucsb.edu
Arash Nowbahar

Graduate Student, Squires Lab

anowbahar@umail.ucsb.edu
Clarke Palmer

Graduate Student, McFarland Lab

clarke_palmer@umail.ucsb.edu
Michael Paull

Graduate Student, Daugherty Lab

paull@umail.ucsb.edu
Joseph Peterson

Graduate Student, Leal and Fredrickson Labs

jdp@umail.ucsb.edu
Igor Podolsky

Graduate Student, O'Malley Lab

igorpodolsky@umail.ucsb.edu
Geoffrey Poon

Graduate Student, Peters Lab

geoffreygpoon@umail.ucsb.edu
Abe Pressman

Graduate Student

abe_pressman@umail.ucsb.edu
Nathan Prisco

Graduate Student, Chmelka Lab

nprisco@umail.ucsb.edu
Anusha Pusuluri

Graduate Student, Mitragotri Lab

anusha_pusuluri@umail.ucsb.edu
Muna Saber

Graduate Student, Fredrickson Lab

munasaber@umail.ucsb.edu
Tanmoy Sanyal

Graduate Student, Shell Lab
 

tanmoy@umail.ucsb.edu
Apoorva Sarode

Graduate Student, Mitragotri Lab

apoorva_sarode@umail.ucsb.edu
Nicole Schonenbach

Graduate Student, O'Malley and Han Labs

nicole_schonenbach@umail.ucsb.edu
Alex Schrader

Graduate Student, Israelachvili and Han Labs

schrader@umail.ucsb.edu
Pavel Shapturenka

Graduate Student, Gordon Lab

pavel@umail.ucsb.edu
Nicholas Sherck

Graduate Student, Shell and Fredrickson Labs

nsherck@umail.ucsb.edu
David Smith

Graduate Student, Mitragotri, Leal and Shell Labs

djs01@umail.ucsb.edu
Candice Swift

Graduate Student, O'Malley Lab

cswift@umail.ucsb.edu
Carl Tilbury

Graduate Student, Doherty Lab

cjtilbury@umail.ucsb.edu
Anvay Ukidve

Graduate Student, Mitragotri Lab

anvay_ukidve@umail.ucsb.edu
Craig Vandervelden

Graduate Student, Peters Lab

craigvandervelden@umail.ucsb.edu
Michael Vigers

Graduate Student, Han and O'Malley Labs

mvigers@umail.ucsb.edu
Douglas Vogus

Graduate Student, Squires and Mitragotri Labs

dvogus@umail.ucsb.edu
Chatarin Wangsanuwat

Graduate Student, Dey Lab

cwangsanuwat@umail.ucsb.edu
St. Elmo Wilken

Graduate Student, O'Malley, Petzold, and Busetto Labs

stelmo@umail.ucsb.edu
Debra Wu

Graduate Student, Mitragotri Lab

debrahwu@umail.ucsb.edu
Ryan Yappert

Graduate Student, Peters Lab

yappert@umail.ucsb.edu
Justin Yoo

Graduate Student, O'Malley and Daugherty Labs

justin_yoo@umail.ucsb.edu
Beihang Yu

Graduate Students, Segalman Lab

beihang@umail.ucsb.edu
Mengwen Zhang

Graduate Student, Helgeson and Mitragotri Labs

mzhang00@umail.ucsb.edu
Jiamin Zhang

Graduate Student, Leal and Helgeson Labs

jiamin@umail.ucsb.edu
Yuanyi (Alex) Zhang

Graduate Student, Segalman Lab

zhang00@umail.ucsb.edu
Niels Zussblatt

Graduate Student, Chmelka and Squires Labs

niels_p_zussblatt@umail.ucsb.edu