People

Faculty

Name Title Office Phone and Email
Mahdi Abu-Omar

Mellichamp Cluster Chair, Green Chemistry
Professor, Chemistry and (by courtesy) Chemical Engineering

3241 Chemistry (805) 893-5043
abuomar@chem.ucsb.edu
Christopher M. Bates

Assistant Professor, Materials and (by courtesy) Chemical Engineering

1518 Engineering II (805) 893-5383
bates@engineering.ucsb.edu
Joseph Chada

Lecturer with Potential Security of Employment

3334 Engineering II (805) 893-4596
jchada@ucsb.edu
Bradley Chmelka

Professor

3327 Engineering II (805) 893-3673
bradc@engineering.ucsb.edu
Phillip Christopher

Associate Professor
Mellichamp Cluster Chair, Sustainable Manufacturing

3335 Engineering II (805) 893-2610
pchristopher@ucsb.edu
Siddharth Dey

Assistant Professor

3008 BioEngineering Bldg. (805) 893-5387
dey@engineering.ucsb.edu
Michael Doherty

Professor

3323 Engineering II (805) 893-5309
mfd@engineering.ucsb.edu
Glenn Fredrickson

Mitsubishi Chemical Professor

3105 MRL Bldg (805) 893-8308
ghf@mrl.ucsb.edu
Michael Gordon

Associate Professor 
Department Vice Chair

 

3351 Engineering II (805) 893-7346
mjgordon@engineering.ucsb.edu
Songi Han

Professor

4614 PSBN (805) 893-4858
songi@chem.ucsb.edu
Matthew Helgeson

Associate Professor

3337 Engineering II (805) 893-3372
helgeson@engineering.ucsb.edu
Eric McFarland

Professor

3331 Engineering II (805) 893-4343
Arnab Mukherjee

Assistant Professor

3349 Engineering II (805) 893-5137
arnabm@engineering.ucsb.edu
Michelle O'Malley

Associate Professor

3343 Engineering II (805) 893-4769
momalley@engineering.ucsb.edu
Baron Peters

Professor

3339 Engineering II (805) 284-8293
baronp@engineering.ucsb.edu
James B. Rawlings

Mellichamp Process Control Chair

3329 Engineering II (805) 893-3089
jbraw@ucsb.edu
Susannah Scott

Professor
Mellichamp Cluster Chair, Sustainable Catalytic Processing

3325 Engineering II and Building 489, Room 101A (805) 893-5606
sscott@engineering.ucsb.edu
Rachel Segalman

Edward Noble Kramer Professor
Department Chair

3353 and 3333 Engineering II (805) 893-3709
segalman@engineering.ucsb.edu
M. Scott Shell

Professor
Department Vice Chair

3321 Engineering II (805) 893-4346
shell@engineering.ucsb.edu
Todd Squires

Professor
 

3347 Engineering II (805) 893-7383
squires@engineering.ucsb.edu
Sho Takatori

Assistant Professor
(Coming Soon)

Adjunct Faculty

Name Title Office Phone and Email
David Gay

Adjunct Professor
Director of Technology, UCSB Institute for Collaborative Biotechnologies

2704 Ellison Hall (805) 893-4675
david.gay@icb.ucsb.edu

Emeriti

Name Title Office Phone and Email
Jacob Israelachvili

Professor Emeritus
Research Professor

Building 570 Room 1200 (805) 893-8407
jacob@engineering.ucsb.edu
L. Gary Leal

Professor Emeritus
Research Professor

3329 Engineering II (805) 893-8510
lgl20@engineering.ucsb.edu
Gene Lucas

Professor Emeritus

gene@engineering.ucsb.edu
Duncan Mellichamp

Professor Emeritus

3336 Engineering II (805) 893-2821
dmell@engineering.ucsb.edu
Robert Rinker

Professor Emeritus

rinker@ucsb.edu
Orville Sandall

Professor Emeritus

(805) 893-2908
sandall@engineering.ucsb.edu
Dale Seborg

Professor Emeritus
Research Professor

(805) 893-3352
seborg@ucsb.edu
Theo Theofanous

Professor Emeritus
Director, Center for Risk Studies & Safety

(805) 689-1311
theo@theofanous.net

Staff

Name Title Office Phone and Email
Mike Best

Management Services Officer

3355A Engineering II (805) 893-4131
mike@engineering.ucsb.edu
George Crespo

Computer & Network Tech

3328 Engineering II (805) 893-5911
george@engineering.ucsb.edu
Erica Diaz

Student Affairs Manager

3357A Engineering II (805) 893-8671
erica@engineering.ucsb.edu
Michelle FitzGerald

Purchasing Assistant

3357B Engineering II (805) 893-7727
mfitzgerald@engineering.ucsb.edu
David Gragg

Associate Development Engineer

3109 Engineering II (805) 893-3212
tongaroa@engineering.ucsb.edu
Celina Keefer

Contracts & Grants Analyst

3361A Engineering II (805) 893-2950
celinakeefer@engineering.ucsb.edu
Debbie Kleinpeter

Assistant for the Mellichamp Sustainability Cluster

Building 489 Room 101 (805) 893-8614
debbie@engineering.ucsb.edu
Kai Kristiansen

Associate Project Scientist, Israelachvili Lab

Building 570 (805) 893-5268
kai@engineering.ucsb.edu
Jose Navarrete

Undergraduate Lab Manager

1161 & 1165 Engineering II (805) 893-3251
josenavarrete@ucsb.edu
Cynthia Rojo

Chair's Assistant
Seminar Coordinator

3353 Engineering II (805) 893-5438
crojo@engineering.ucsb.edu
Rachel Souza

Student Affairs Assistant

3357 Engineering II (805) 893-3412
rsouza@ucsb.edu
Beth Thomas

Academic Personnel Analyst

3350 Engineering II (805) 893-8692
beth@engineering.ucsb.edu
Vacant

Payroll Analyst

3357B Engineering II
Vacant

General Reimbursements
Faculty Assistant

3355 Engineering II
Melissa Walker

Communications Coordinator
Faculty Assistant
Travel & Entertainment 

3350 Engineering II (805) 893-8692
walker@engineering.ucsb.edu
Cristina Wilson

Financial Manager

3361A Engineering II (805) 893-2950
cbwils@ucsb.edu

Visiting Scholars

Name Title Office Phone and Email
Fangwen Cheng

Visiting Scholar, Scott Lab

Building 489 chengfangwen95@gmail.com
Mengkui Cui

Visiting Scholar, Israelachvili Lab

cuimk@shanghaitech.edu.cn
Eyal Dassau

Researcher, Doyle Lab

 

(805) 693-4727
dassau@engr.ucsb.edu
Michaela Dumberger

Visiting Scholar, Gordon Lab

Michaela.dumberger@tum.de
Pauline Gaillard

Visiting Scholar, Gordon Lab

pauline.gaillard@live.fr
Florian Gebhard

Visiting Scholar, Helgeson Lab

3211 Engineering II Flogebhard@web.de
Dongwon Hwang

Visiting Scholar, Scott Lab

dwhwang0427@gmail.com
Praveen Kumar

Visiting Scholar, Scott Lab

3411 ESB (805) 724-9115
praveen@engineering.ucsb.edu
Dean Mastropietro

Visiting Scholar, Israelachvili Lab

djm00@ucsb.edu
Lynne McCusker

Visiting Scholar, Chmelka Lab

mccusker@engineering.ucsb.edu
Susu Ren

Visiting Scholar, Israelachvili Lab

renss@shanghaitech.edu.cn
Simon Smart

Visiting Scholar, McFarland Lab

805 570 9647
sksmart@engineering.ucsb.edu
Yuanyuan Sun

Visiting Scholar, Doherty Lab

sunyyuam@126.com
Na Sun

Visiting Scholar, Israelachvili Lab

Building 570 (805) 893-8407
nsun@bit.edu.cn
Julia Wohland

Visiting Scholar, Scott Lab

3217 ESB julia.wohland@rwth-aachen.de
Maria Yliruka

Visiting Scholar, Doherty Lab

ylirukam@student.ethz.ch
Yongsheng Zhao

Visiting Scholar, Doherty Lab.

yszhao@sjtu.edu.cn
Chunming Zheng

Visiting Scholar, Scott Lab

3328 ESB zhengchunming@tjpu.edu
Peng Zhu

Visiting Scholar, Doherty Lab

peng_zhu@engineering.ucsb.edu

Postdocs

Name Title Office Phone and Email
Huanshu Tan

Postdoctoral Scholar, Squires Lab

ENGR II huanshutan@ucsb.edu
Roberto Andresen Eguiluz

Postdoctoral Scholar, Israelachvili Lab

Building 570 (805) 893-5268
randresen@engineering.ucsb.edu
Segolene Antoine

Postdoctoral Scholar, Segalman Lab

3228 Engineering II segolene@ucsb.edu
Amrita Banerjee

Postdoctoral Scholar, Mitragotri Lab

1229 Elings Hall abanerjee@engineering.ucsb.edu
Joseph Barakat

Postdoctoral Scholar, Squires Lab

3313 Engineering II josephbarakat@ucsb.edu
Amer Hamidi-Sakr

Postdoctoral Scholar, Segalman Lab

3228 Engineering II amer@ucsb.edu
Sheetal Jain

Postdoctoral Scholar, Han Lab

Dohyung Kang

Postdoctoral Scholar – McFarland Lab

3330 Engineering II dohyung_kang@engineering.ucsb.edu
Dongwook Lee

Postdoctoral Scholar, Segalman Lab
– Rachel Segalman and Ram Seshadri groups

3228 Engineering II dongwooklee@ucsb.edu
Christian Leitold

Postdoctoral Scholar, Peters Lab

3218 Engineering II christian.leitold@gmail.com
Harishankar Manikantan

Postdoctoral Scholar, Squires Lab

3332 Engineering II hmanikantan@engineering.ucsb.edu
Harun F. Ozbakir

Postdoctoral Scholar, Mukherjee Lab

3334 Engineering II hfozbakir@engineering.ucsb.edu
Soupitak Pal

Postdoctoral Scholar, Odette Lab

3101 Engineering II (858) 281-8447
soupitak@engineering.ucsb.edu
Hellen Papananou

Postdoctoral Scholar, Segalman Lab

3228 Engineering II hellen@ucsb.edu
Nick Peng

Postdoctoral Scholar, O'Malley Lab

xpeng@engineering.ucsb.edu
Nazanin Rahimi

Postdoctoral Scholar, McFarland Group

3330 Engineering II (805) 708-7102
nazrah@engineering.ucsb.edu
G N Manjunatha Reddy

Postdoctoral Scholar, Chmelka Lab

3324 Engineering II gnm.reddy@mrl.ucsb.edu
Joaquin Resasco

Postdoctoral Scholar, Christopher Lab

3222 Engineering II (405) 474-3836
jresasco@ucsb.edu
Insoo Ro

Postdoctoral Scholar, Christopher Lab

Department of Chemical Engineering insoo621@gmail.com
Paul Rottmann

Postdoctoral Scholar, Gordon Lab

Chandi Sasmal

Postdoctoral Scholar, Leal Lab

3235 Engineering II chandisasmal@engineering.ucsb.edu
Bhogeswararao Seemala

Postdoctoral Scholar, Christopher Lab

Nan Shi

Postdoctoral Scholar, Squires Lab

vincentshinan@gmail.com
Shizhao Su

Postdoctoral Scholar, McFarland Lab

3307 Engineering II ssu@engineering.ucsb.edu
Ethan Susca

Postdoctoral Scholar, Segalman Lab
~Rachel Segalman, Chris Bates, & Javier Read de Alaniz groups

3228 Engineering II esusca@ucsb.edu
Xiaoyu Tang

Postdoctoral Scholar - Squires Group

3324 Engineering II 609-937-9181
xiaoyu_tang@ucsb.edu
Behzad Tangeysh

Postdoctoral Scholar - McFarland Group

behzadtangeysh@ucsb.edu
Maryam Tarazkar

Postdoctoral Scholar, Eric McFarland Group

Chem 4314 (267) 608-9226
maryamtarazkar@ucsb.edu
Andrew Therrien

Postdoctoral Scholar, Christopher Lab

Postdoctoral Scholar
(802) 274-9892
atherrien@chemengr.ucsb.edu
Bas van Ravensteijn

Postdoctoral Scholar, Helgeson Lab

3334 Engineering II ravensteijn@engineering.ucsb.edu
Jing Wu

Postdoctoral Scholar, Scott Lab

ESB 3215H jingwu1986@engineering.ucsb.edu
Fan Zhang

Postdoctoral Scholar, Susannah Scott Lab 

(805) 618-5365
frankzhang8506@gmail.com
Yongsheng Zhao

Postdoctoral Scholar, Doherty Lab

 

Department of Chemical Engineering yszhao@sjtu.edu.cn

Graduate Students

Name Title Office Phone and Email
Nolan Anderson

Graduate Student, Mukherjee Lab

 

nolananderson@umail.ucsb.edu
Chithra Asokan

Graduate Student, Christopher Lab

casokan@umail.ucsb.edu
Anirudha Banerjee

Graduate Student, Squires Lab

anirudhabanerjee@umail.ucsb.edu
Tsatsral Battsengel

Graduate Student, Chmelka Lab

tsatsral@umail.ucsb.edu
Alexandra Bayles

Gaduate Student, Helgeson and Squires Labs

avbayles@umail.ucsb.edu
Shona Becwar

Graduate Student, Chmelka and Han Labs

sbecwar@umail.ucsb.edu
Maxwell Berkow

Graduate Student, Chmelka Lab

maxwellberkow@umail.ucsb.edu
Zachariah Berkson

Graduate Student, Chmelka and Israelachvili Labs

zberkson@umail.ucsb.edu
Jennifer Brown

Graduate Student, O'Malley Lab

jenniferbrown@umail.ucsb.edu
Michael Burroughs

Graduate Student, Helgeson and Leal Labs

mcburroughs@umail.ucsb.edu
Lesley Chan

Graduate Student, Gordon Lab

lesleychan@umail.ucsb.edu
Chih-Cheng (Peter) Chang

Graduate Student, Squires Lab

chihcheng@umail.ucsb.edu
Szu-Ying (Sandy) Chen

Graduate Student, Israelachvili Lab

szuying@umail.ucsb.edu
Alex Chialastri

Graduate Student, Dey Lab

alexchialastri@umail.ucsb.edu
Patrick Corona

Graduate Student, Helgeson Lab

corona@umail.ucsb.edu
Scott Danielsen

Graduate Student, Segalman and Fredrickson Labs

sdanielsen@mrl.ucsb.edu
George Degen

Graduate Student, Israelachvili and Shea Labs

gdegen@umail.ucsb.edu
Audra Destefano

Graduate Student

adestefano@umail.ucsb.edu
Howard Dobbs

Graduate Student, Chmelka and Israelachvili Labs

howarddobbs@umail.ucsb.edu
Chelsea Edwards

Graduate Student

edwardsc@mit.edu
Kang-Ching Fan

Graduate Student, Mukherjee Lab

kangchingfan@umail.ucsb.edu
Scott Fenton

Graduate Student, Helgeson Lab

scottmfenton@umail.ucsb.edu
Jordan Finzel

Graduate Student

jordanfinzel@umail.ucsb.edu
Julia Fisher

Graduate Student, Squires Labs

juliafisher@umail.ucsb.edu
Jan Garcia

Graduate Student, Fredrickson Lab

janulric@umail.ucsb.edu
Chung-ta Han

Graduate Student, Han Lab

chungtahan@umail.ucsb.edu
Dakota Hanemann-Rawlings

Graduate Student, Segalman and Chabinyc Labs

dakota00@umail.ucsb.edu
Varun Hegde

Graduate Student

varunhegde@umail.ucsb.edu
Kellie Heom

Graduate Student

kheom@umail.ucsb.edu
Jun Hee Jang

Graduate Student, Abu-Omar Lab

jjang@umail.ucsb.edu
Sally Jiao

Graduate Student

sjiao@umail.ucsb.edu
Seamus Jones

Graduate Student, Segalman and Fredrickson Labs

seamusdjones@umail.ucsb.edu
Kartik Kamat

Graduate Student, Peters Lab

kartik_kamat@umail.ucsb.edu
Kimberlee Keithley

Graduate Student

kimberlee@umail.ucsb.edu
Salman Khan

Graduate Student, Peters and Scott Labs

salman@umail.ucsb.edu
Vikram Khanna

Graduate Student, Doherty Lab

vikram_khanna@umail.ucsb.edu
Pratyush Kumar

Graduate Student

pratyushkumar@umail.ucsb.edu
Christopher Kuo-Leblanc

Graduate Student

ckuo-leblanc@umail.ucsb.edu
Patrick Leggieri

Graduate Student

leggieri@umail.ucsb.edu
Ryan Ley

Graduate Student, Gordon Lab

ryanley@umail.ucsb.edu
Stephen Lillington

Graduate Student

stephenlillington@umail.ucsb.edu
Daniel Mamerow

Graduate Student, Soh Lab

dmamerow@umail.ucsb.edu
Jonathan Martin

Graduate Student, Fredrickson Lab

j_m_m@umail.ucsb.edu
Toby Mazal

Graduate Student

tmazal@umail.ucsb.edu
Koty McAllister

Graduate Student

rdmcallister@umail.ucsb.edu
Samantha McCuskey

Graduate Student, Segalman and Bazan Labs

smccuskey@umail.ucsb.edu
Jacob Monroe

Graduate Student, Shell Lab

jimonroe@umail.ucsb.edu
Hyunjin Moon

Graduate Student, Scott Lab

hmoon@umail.ucsb.edu
Tuan Nguyen

Graduate Student, Helgeson Lab

tuan_nguyen@umail.ucsb.edu
My Nguyen

Graduate Student

my@umail.ucsb.edu
Clarke Palmer

Graduate Student, McFarland Lab

clarke_palmer@umail.ucsb.edu
Joseph Peterson

Graduate Student, Leal and Fredrickson Labs

jdp@umail.ucsb.edu
Igor Podolsky

Graduate Student, O'Malley Lab

igorpodolsky@umail.ucsb.edu
David Podorefsky

Graduate Student

dpodorefsky@umail.ucsb.edu
Geoffrey Poon

Graduate Student, Peters Lab

geoffreygpoon@umail.ucsb.edu
Abe Pressman

Graduate Student

abe_pressman@umail.ucsb.edu
Nathan Prisco

Graduate Student, Chmelka Lab

nprisco@umail.ucsb.edu
Ji Qi

Graduate Student, Christopher Lab

qi01@umail.ucsb.edu
Dennis Robinson Brown

Graduate Student

d_robinsonbrown@umail.ucsb.edu
Muna Saber

Graduate Student

munasaber@umail.ucsb.edu
Tanmoy Sanyal

Graduate Student, Shell Lab
 

tanmoy@umail.ucsb.edu
Michael Schmithorst

Graduate Student

mschmithorst@umail.ucsb.edu
Parth Shah

Graduate Student

parthshah@umail.ucsb.edu
Pavel Shapturenka

Graduate Student, Gordon Lab

pavel@umail.ucsb.edu
Nicholas Sherck

Graduate Student, Shell and Fredrickson Labs

nsherck@umail.ucsb.edu
Tanvi Sheth

Graduate Student, Helgeson Lab

tsheth@umail.ucsb.edu
David Smith

Graduate Student, Mitragotri, Leal and Shell Labs

djs01@umail.ucsb.edu
Michael Spears

Graduate Student

mspears@umail.ucsb.edu
Emily Sun

Graduate Student

emilysun@umail.ucsb.edu
Candice Swift

Graduate Student, O'Malley Lab

cswift@umail.ucsb.edu
Craig Vandervelden

Graduate Student, Peters Lab

craigvandervelden@umail.ucsb.edu
Michael Vigers

Graduate Student, Han and O'Malley Labs

mvigers@umail.ucsb.edu
Daniel Vigil

Graduate Student, Fredrickson Lab

dvigil@umail.ucsb.edu
Chatarin Wangsanuwat

Graduate Student, Dey Lab

cwangsanuwat@umail.ucsb.edu
Thomas Webber

Graduate Student

thomaswebber@umail.ucsb.edu
St. Elmo Wilken

Graduate Student, O'Malley and Petzold Labs

stelmo@umail.ucsb.edu
Ryan Yappert

Graduate Student, Peters Lab

yappert@umail.ucsb.edu
(George) Guangzhao, Yin

Graduate Student, Christopher Lab

gyin@umail.ucsb.edu
Justin Yoo

Graduate Student, O'Malley and Daugherty Labs

justin_yoo@umail.ucsb.edu
Beihang Yu

Graduate Students, Segalman Lab

beihang@umail.ucsb.edu
Gregory Zakem

Graduate Student, Christopher Lab

Yuanyi (Alex) Zhang

Graduate Student, Segalman Lab

zhang00@umail.ucsb.edu
Jiamin Zhang

Graduate Student, Leal and Helgeson Labs

jiamin@umail.ucsb.edu