People

Faculty

Name Title Office Phone and Email
Mahdi M. Abu-Omar

Mellichamp Chair in Green Chemistry
Professor, Chemistry and (by courtesy) Chemical Engineering

3241 Chemistry (805) 893-5043
mabuomar@ucsb.edu
Christopher M. Bates

Assistant Professor, Materials and (by courtesy) Chemical Engineering

1518 Engineering II (805) 893-5383
cbates@ucsb.edu
Joseph Chada (he/him/his)

Lecturer with Potential Security of Employment

Pronounced: Joe Chad-ah

3334 Engineering II (805) 893-4596
jchada@ucsb.edu
Bradley Chmelka

Professor

3327 Engineering II (805) 893-3673
bradc@engineering.ucsb.edu
Phillip Christopher (he/him/his)

Professor
Mellichamp Cluster Chair, Sustainable Manufacturing

3335 Engineering II (805) 893-2610
pchristopher@ucsb.edu
Siddharth Dey

Assistant Professor

3008 BioEngineering Bldg. (805) 893-5387
sdey@ucsb.edu
Michael Doherty (he/him/his)

Professor
Mellichamp Chair in Process Systems Engineering - NAE

3323 Engineering II (805) 893-5309
mfd@ucsb.edu
Glenn Fredrickson

Mitsubishi Chemical Professor
NAE, NAS

3105 MRL Bldg (805) 893-8308
ghf@mrl.ucsb.edu
Michael Gordon

Professor 
Robert G. Rinker Founder's Chair
Department Vice Chair

3351 Engineering II (805) 893-7346
gordon@ucsb.edu
Songi Han

Professor

4614 PSBN (805) 893-4858
songi@chem.ucsb.edu
Matthew Helgeson (he/him/his)

Associate Professor

Pronounced: HEL-guess-un

3337 Engineering II (805) 893-3372
helgeson@engineering.ucsb.edu
Eric McFarland

Professor

3331 Engineering II mcfar@ucsb.edu
Arnab Mukherjee

Assistant Professor

3349 Engineering II (805) 893-5137
arnabm@engineering.ucsb.edu
Michelle O'Malley (she/her/hers)

Professor

3343 Engineering II (805) 893-4769
momalley@engineering.ucsb.edu
James B. Rawlings

Mellichamp Process Control Chair
NAE

3329 Engineering II (805) 893-3089
jbraw@ucsb.edu
Susannah Scott

Distinguished Professor
Duncan and Suzanne Mellichamp Academic Initiative in Sustainability Chair, Sustainable Catalytic Processing

3325 Engineering II and Sycamore Hall (Building 489), Room 101A (805) 893-5606
sscott@ucsb.edu
Rachel Segalman (she/her/hers)

Edward Noble Kramer Professor
Department Chair - NAE
Pronounced: RAY-chel SEE-gahl-man

3353 and 3333 Engineering II (805) 893-3709
segalman@ucsb.edu
M. Scott Shell (he/him/his)

Professor
John Myers Founder's Chair 
Department Vice Chair

3321 Engineering II (805) 893-4346
shell@engineering.ucsb.edu
Todd Squires

Professor
 

3347 Engineering II (805) 893-7383
squires@engineering.ucsb.edu
Sho Takatori (he/him/his)

Assistant Professor

3341 Engineering II (805) 893-7089
stakatori@ucsb.edu

Adjunct Faculty

Name Title Office Phone and Email
David Gay

Adjunct Professor
Director of Technology, UCSB Institute for Collaborative Biotechnologies

2704 Ellison Hall (805) 893-4675
david.gay@icb.ucsb.edu

Emeriti

Name Title Office Phone and Email
L. Gary Leal

Professor Emeritus
Research Professor

3332 Engineering II (805) 893-8510
lgl20@engineering.ucsb.edu
Gene Lucas

Professor Emeritus

gene@engineering.ucsb.edu
Duncan Mellichamp

Professor Emeritus

3336 Engineering II (805) 893-2821
duncan_mellichamp@ucsb.edu
Robert Rinker

Professor Emeritus

rinker@ucsb.edu
Orville Sandall

Professor Emeritus

(805) 893-2908
sandall@engineering.ucsb.edu
Dale Seborg

Professor Emeritus
Research Professor

(805) 893-3352
seborg@ucsb.edu
Theo Theofanous

Professor Emeritus
Director, Center for Risk Studies & Safety

(805) 689-1311
theo@theofanous.net

Staff

Name Title Office Phone and Email
Mike Best (he/him/his)

Management Services Officer

Pronounced: mY-k

3355A Engineering II (805) 893-4131
mbest@ucsb.edu
Carlo Broderick (he/him/his)

Mellichamp Academic Initiative Program Coordinator

Pronounced: Car-Low

Building 489 Room 101 (805) 893-8614
carlobroderick@ucsb.edu
Adrian Cortez (he/him/his)

Undergraduate Lab Manager

Pronounced: Ay-Dree-An  Kor-tez

1161 & 1165 Engineering II (805) 893-3251
acortez@chemengr.ucsb.edu
George Crespo

Computer & Network Tech

3328 Engineering II (805) 893-5911
george@engineering.ucsb.edu
Erica Diaz (she/her/hers)

Student Affairs Manager

Pronounced: air-i-kuh

3357A Engineering II (805) 893-8671
erica@engineering.ucsb.edu
Rachel Irving (she/her/hers)

Academic Personnel Analyst

Pronounced: RAY-chull

3350 Engineering II (805) 893-8692
rachelirving@ucsb.edu
Kristy Odermann (she/her/hers)

Payroll Analyst

Pronounced: krIHs-tee

3357B Engineering II (805) 893-5146
kodermann@ucsb.edu
Ashley Olivo (she/her/hers)

Contracts & Grants Analyst

Pronounced: ash-lee

3357B Engineering II (805) 893-2950
aolivo@ucsb.edu
Andrea Palmerin (she/her/hers)

Purchasing, Travel, and Entertainment
Pronounced: an-drEH-ah

3357B Engineering II (805) 893-7727
andrea_palmerin@ucsb.edu
Cynthia Rojo (she/her/hers)

Chair's Assistant
Seminar Coordinator

Pronounced: sin-thee-uh

3353 Engineering II (805) 893-5438
crojo@engineering.ucsb.edu
Dongyan Song (she/her/hers)

Student Affairs Coordinator

Pronounced: Song

3357 Engineering II 805-893-3412
dsong1011@ucsb.edu
Cristina Wilson (she/her/hers)

Financial Manager

Pronounced: Kris-teen-uh

3361A Engineering II (805) 893-2950
cbwils@ucsb.edu

Visiting Scholars

Name Title Office Phone and Email
Haiyan Guo

Visiting Scholar, McFarland Lab

haiyan_guo@ucsb.edu
Kai-Chieh (Amy) Yang

Visiting Scholar, Segalman Lab

kai-chieh@ucsb.edu

Postdocs

Name Title Office Phone and Email
Joseph Barakat

Postdoctoral Scholar, Squires Lab

3338 Engineering II josephbarakat@ucsb.edu
Federica Boscaro

Postdoctoral Scholar, Chmelka Lab

fboscaro@ucsb.edu
Amy R. Eisenberg (she/her/hers)

Postdoctoral Scholar, O'Malley Lab

Pronounced: AY-mee

aeisenberg@ucsb.edu
Lijun Gao

Postdoctoral Scholar, Scott Lab

lijungao@ucsb.edu
Michael Haggmark

Postdoctoral Scholar, Gordon Lab

3165 Engineering II (209) 914-0825
haggmark@ucsb.edu
Sheetal Jain

Postdoctoral Scholar, Han Lab

jsheetal@chem.ucsb.edu
Jaeha Lee

Postdoctoral Scholar, Christopher Lab

(805) 284-8768
jaeha0913@ucsb.edu
Hyunjin Moon

Postdoctoral Scholar, Scott Lab

hmoon@umail.ucsb.edu
Joshua Moon

Postdoctoral Scholar, Segalman and Hawker Labs

jdmoon@ucsb.edu
Tejas Navaratna (he/him/his)

Postdoctoral Scholar, O'Malley Lab

Pronounced: TAY-juhs

(408) 318-5227
tejasn@ucsb.edu
Oscar Nordness

Postdoctoral Scholar, Segalman Lab

nordness@ucsb.edu
Harun F. Ozbakir

Postdoctoral Scholar, Mukherjee Lab

3334 Engineering II hfozbakir@engineering.ucsb.edu
Oleksandr Polonskyi

Postdoctoral Scholar, Gordon Lab

3324 Engineering 2 polonskyi@ucsb.edu
Ji Qi (he/him/his)

Postdoctoral Scholar, Christopher Lab

Pronounced: Gee

qi01@umail.ucsb.edu
Sujith Ramakrishnan

Postdoctoral Scholar, Christopher Lab

chem_sujith@ucsb.edu
Neha Saxena

Postdoctoral Scholar, Dey Lab

nsaxena@ucsb.edu
Philipp Selter

Postdoctoral Scholar, Chmelka Lab

pselter@ucsb.edu
Kevin Shen

Postdoctoral Scholar, Shell and Fredrickson Labs

kevinshen@ucsb.edu
Allison Wesley (she/her/hers)

Postdoctoral Scholar, Scott Lab

Pronounced: Al-LEE (Ally)  Wes-Lee

allisonwesley@ucsb.edu
Xiangxi Meng

Postdoctoral Scholar, Segalman Lab

xiangximeng@ucsb.edu
Shuyi Xie

Postdoctoral Scholar, Segalman Lab

shuyixie@ucsb.edu
Dafei Yuan

Postdoctoral Scholar, Segalman Lab

yuandafei14@ucsb.edu
Yongsheng Zhao

Postdoctoral Scholar, Doherty Lab

 

Department of Chemical Engineering yzhao01@ucsb.edu

Graduate Students

Name Title Office Phone and Email
Cameron Adams

Graduate Student

cameronadams@umail.ucsb.edu
Gaurav Agarwal (He/him/his)

Graduate Student

Pronounced: GAH-ruhv

gauravagarwal@umail.ucsb.edu
Colleen Ahern (she/her/hers)

Graduate Student, O'Malley Lab

colleen_ahern@umail.ucsb.edu
Nolan Anderson (he/him/his)

Graduate Student, Mukherjee Lab

 

nolananderson@umail.ucsb.edu
Bekah Anderson

Graduate Student

bekahanderson@umail.ucsb.edu
Daniel Arnold (he/him/his)

Graduate Student, Takatori Lab

Pronounced: dan-YUHL

danielarnold@umail.ucsb.edu
Chithra Asokan

Graduate Student, Christopher Lab

casokan@umail.ucsb.edu
Samantha Ausman

Graduate Student

sausman@umail.ucsb.edu
Michelle Baldini (She/They)

Graduate Student

Pronounced: Meh-shell

mbaldini@umail.ucsb.edu
Tsatsral Battsengel

Graduate Student, Chmelka Lab

tsatsral@umail.ucsb.edu
Shona Becwar

Graduate Student, Chmelka and Han Labs

sbecwar@umail.ucsb.edu
Maxwell Berkow

Graduate Student, Chmelka Lab

maxwellberkow@umail.ucsb.edu
Jonathan Bingaman (He/They)

Graduate Student

jbingaman@umail.ucsb.edu
Elaina Blair

Graduate Student, O'Malley Lab

elainablair@umail.ucsb.edu
Jennifer Brown

Graduate Student, O'Malley Lab

jenniferbrown@umail.ucsb.edu
Michael Burroughs

Graduate Student, Helgeson and Leal Labs

mcburroughs@umail.ucsb.edu
Lazarina Butkovich (she/her/hers)

Graduate Student, O'Malley Lab
Pronounced: LAW-zuh-REE-nuh BOOT-koh-vitch

lbutkovich@umail.ucsb.edu
Devon Callan

Graduate Student, Bates Lab

devoncallan@umail.ucsb.edu
Annabelle Canestraight

Graduate Student

acanestraight@umail.ucsb.edu
Jason Chalmers

Graduate Student, Scott Lab

jchalmers@umail.ucsb.edu
Alex Chialastri

Graduate Student, Dey Lab

alexchialastri@umail.ucsb.edu
Kyu Hwan Choi (He/him/his)

Graduate Student

Pronounced:Kyoo Hahn

kyuhwan@umail.ucsb.edu
Cheng-Hsun Chuang

Graduate Student

cchuang@umail.ucsb.edu
Anukta Datta (she/her/hers)

Graduate Student, Helgeson Lab

Pronounced: Aa-nook-ta

anukta@umail.ucsb.edu
George Degen

Graduate Student, Israelachvili and Shea Labs

gdegen@umail.ucsb.edu
Audra Destefano (she/her/hers)

Graduate Student, Han and Segalman Labs

adestefano@umail.ucsb.edu
Jerrick Edmund

Graduate Student

jedmund@umail.ucsb.edu
Chelsea Edwards

Graduate Student, Helgeson Lab

chelsea_edwards@umail.ucsb.edu
Kang-Ching Fan

Graduate Student, Mukherjee Lab

kangchingfan@umail.ucsb.edu
Scott Fenton

Graduate Student, Helgeson Lab

scottmfenton@umail.ucsb.edu
Jordan Finzel

Graduate Student, Christopher Lab

jordanfinzel@umail.ucsb.edu
Julia Fisher

Graduate Student, Squires Labs

juliafisher@umail.ucsb.edu
Colby Fronk

Graduate Student, Squires Lab

colbyfronk@umail.ucsb.edu
Nicholas Gadinas

Graduate Student, Christopher Lab

gadinas@umail.ucsb.edu
Hosu Gwak

Graduate Student

gwak@umail.ucsb.edu
Dakota Hanemann-Rawlings

Graduate Student, Segalman and Chabinyc Labs

dakota00@umail.ucsb.edu
Varun Hegde

Graduate Student, Doherty and Squires Labs

varunhegde@umail.ucsb.edu
Kellie Heom

Graduate Student, Dey and O’Malley Labs

kheom@umail.ucsb.edu
Tse-Chiang Huang

Graduate Student

tse-chiang@umail.ucsb.edu
Anika Jalil

Graduate Student, Christopher Lab

anikajalil@umail.ucsb.edu
Jun Hee Jang

Graduate Student, Abu-Omar Lab

jjang@umail.ucsb.edu
Sally Jiao (she/her/hers)

Graduate Student, Shell Lab

Pronounced: SA-lee

sjiao@umail.ucsb.edu
Shirley Jin

Graduate Student

jin18@umail.ucsb.edu
Seamus Jones

Graduate Student, Segalman and Fredrickson Labs

seamusdjones@umail.ucsb.edu
Kartik Kamat

Graduate Student, Peters Lab

kartik_kamat@umail.ucsb.edu
Mizuki Kamata

Graduate Student

mkamata@ucsb.edu
Kimberlee Keithley (she/her/hers)

Graduate Student, Fredrickson Lab

Pronounced: KEE-th-LEE

kimberlee@umail.ucsb.edu
Salman Khan

Graduate Student, Peters and Scott Labs

salman@umail.ucsb.edu
Vikram Khanna

Graduate Student, Doherty Lab

vikram_khanna@umail.ucsb.edu
Pratyush Kumar

Graduate Student, Rawlings Lab

pratyushkumar@umail.ucsb.edu
Steven Kuntz

Graduate Student, Rawlings Lab

skuntz@umail.ucsb.edu
Christopher Kuo-Leblanc

Graduate Student, Rawlings Lab

ckuo-leblanc@umail.ucsb.edu
Patrick Leggieri

Graduate Student, O’Malley Lab

leggieri@umail.ucsb.edu
Matt Lertola (he/him/his)

Graduate Student, Chmelka Lab

mjlertola@umail.ucsb.edu
Ryan Ley

Graduate Student, Gordon Lab

ryanley@umail.ucsb.edu
Charles Li

Graduate Student, Shell and Fredrickson Lab

charlesli@umail.ucsb.edu
Xichen Liang

Graduate Student, Zhu and Squires Labs

xichenliang@umail.ucsb.edu
Stephen Lillington (he/him/his)

Graduate Student, O’Malley and Shell Labs

stephenlillington@umail.ucsb.edu
Norleakvisoth Lim

Graduate Student, Gordon and Nakamura Labs

norleakvisoth@umail.ucsb.edu
Yin-Chen Lin

Graduate Student

yin-chenlin@umail.ucsb.edu
Samuel Lobo

Graduate Student, Shell and Shea Labs

lobo@umail.ucsb.edu
Daniel Mamerow

Graduate Student, Soh Lab

dmamerow@umail.ucsb.edu
Justin Marlowe (he/him/his)

Graduate Student, Christopher and  Abu-Omar Lab

jmarlowe@umail.ucsb.edu
Toby Mazal

Graduate Student, Doherty Lab

tmazal@umail.ucsb.edu
Koty McAllister

Graduate Student, Rawlings Lab

rdmcallister@umail.ucsb.edu
Ethan McGarrigle (he/him/his)

Graduate Student, Fredrickson Lab

Pronounced: eeth-in

emcgarrigle@umail.ucsb.edu
Shawn Mengel (he/him/his)

Graduate Student, Segalman Lab

Pronounced: Shawn

mengel@umail.ucsb.edu
Kevin Modica

Graduate Student, Takatori Lab

kmodica@umail.ucsb.edu
Sachit Nagella

Graduate Student

sgnagella@umail.ucsb.edu
Phong Nguyen

Graduate Student, Chabinyc and Segalman Lab 

php@umail.ucsb.edu
My Nguyen (she/her/hers)

Graduate Student, Fredrickson and Shell Labs

Pronounced: MEE  WIN

my@umail.ucsb.edu
Gordon Pace

Graduate Student, Segalman Lab 

pace@umail.ucsb.edu
Neha Padwal

Graduate Student, Doherty Lab

nehapadwal@umail.ucsb.edu
Clarke Palmer

Graduate Student, McFarland Lab

clarke_palmer@umail.ucsb.edu
Anna Pischer (She/her/hers)

Graduate Student

Pronounced:AN-na

annapischer@umail.ucsb.edu
Igor Podolsky

Graduate Student, O'Malley Lab

igorpodolsky@umail.ucsb.edu
David Podorefsky

Graduate Student, Dey Lab

dpodorefsky@umail.ucsb.edu
Evan Pretti

Graduate Student, Shell Lab

pretti@umail.ucsb.edu
Timothy Quah

Graduate Student, Fredrickson Lab 

timothy_quah@umail.ucsb.edu
Titus Quah (He/him/his)

Graduate Student

Pronounced:Tai-tus

titusquah@umail.ucsb.edu
R. Ramya Ragunathan

Graduate Student

r_ragunathan@umail.ucsb.edu
Graham Reitz

Graduate Student, Gordon Lab 

grahamreitz@umail.ucsb.edu
Kelsey Richardson

Graduate Student

kelseyrichardson@umail.ucsb.edu
Daniela Rivera Mirabal (She/her/hers)

Graduate Student
Pronounced:DAH-nee-e-lah REE-vuh-rah MEE-rah-bal

driveramirabal@umail.ucsb.edu
Dennis Robinson Brown

Graduate Student, Shell Lab

d_robinsonbrown@umail.ucsb.edu
Muna Saber

Graduate Student, Van der Ven and Shell Labs

munasaber@umail.ucsb.edu
Sara Sandlass (she/her/hers)

Graduate Student, Gordon Lab

ssandlass@umail.ucsb.edu
Elizabeth Schauer (she/her/hers)

Graduate Student, O'Malley Lab

Pronounced: Elizabeth Shower

elizabethschauer@umail.ucsb.edu
Michael Schmithorst (he/him/his)

Graduate Student, Chmelka Lab

mschmithorst@umail.ucsb.edu
Emily Schroeder

Graduate Student, Christopher Lab 

ekschroeder@umail.ucsb.edu
Parth Shah

Graduate Student, Squires Lab

parthshah@umail.ucsb.edu
Pavel Shapturenka

Graduate Student, Gordon Lab

pavel@umail.ucsb.edu
Nicholas Sherck

Graduate Student, Shell and Fredrickson Labs

nsherck@umail.ucsb.edu
Tanvi Sheth

Graduate Student, Helgeson Lab

tsheth@umail.ucsb.edu
Michael Spears

Graduate Student, Scott Lab

mspears@umail.ucsb.edu
Garrett Strong

Graduate Student, Scott Lab 

strong@umail.ucsb.edu
Cassidy Tobin

Graduate Student, Read de Alaniz and Bates Labs

cassidytobin@umail.ucsb.edu
Craig Vandervelden

Graduate Student, Peters Lab

craigvandervelden@umail.ucsb.edu
Michael Vigers

Graduate Student, Han and O'Malley Labs

mvigers@umail.ucsb.edu
Daniel Vigil

Graduate Student, Fredrickson Lab

dvigil@umail.ucsb.edu
Chieh Wang

Graduate Student

chieh_wang@umail.ucsb.edu
Chatarin Wangsanuwat (he/him/his)

Graduate Student, Dey Lab

Pronounced: Chad

cwangsanuwat@umail.ucsb.edu
Thomas Webber (he/him/his)

Graduate Student, Han and Segalman Labs

thomaswebber@umail.ucsb.edu
Zachary Westman

Graduate Student, Christopher and Abu-Omar Lab 

zwestman@umail.ucsb.edu
Rembert White (He/him/his)

Graduate Student

Pronounced:REM-bert (or perhaps REM-burt)

rembertwhite@umail.ucsb.edu
Yaxin Xu

Graduate Student, Takatori Lab

yaxinxu@umail.ucsb.edu
Beihang Yu

Graduate Students, Segalman Lab

beihang@umail.ucsb.edu
Gregory Zakem

Graduate Student, Christopher Lab

Rosadriana Zelaya

Graduate Student, Christopher Lab

rzelaya@umail.ucsb.edu
David Zhao

Graduate Student

djzhao@umail.ucsb.edu