Professor Samir Mitragotri Elected to the National Academy of Medicine

Monday, October 17, 2016

Professor Samir Mitragotri is one of 79 new members elected to the National Academy of Medicine for 2016!

Election to the Academy is considered one of the highest honors in the fields of health and medicine and recognizes individuals who have demonstrated outstanding professional achievement and commitment to service. New members are elected by current active members through a selective process that recognizes individuals who have made major contributions to the advancement of the medical sciences, health care, and public health.

Professor Mitragotri joined the UCSB faculty in 2000 as an assistant professor of chemical engineering and of biomolecular science and engineering. He is now the director of the UCSB Center for BioEngineering and has authored or co-authored more than 200 scholarly publications and his research has led to dozens of patents and pending applications. His research focus also includes bio-inspired technology that uses or mimics the body’s own functions for targeted drug delivery that increases the effectiveness of therapies.

Professor Mitragotri has received numerous awards and honors over his career, including election into the National Academy of Engineering; National Academy of Inventors; the American Association for the Advancement of Science; and the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering. He has received the American Institute of Chemical Engineering’s Allan P. Colburn award for outstanding publication record; the Controlled Release Society’s Young Investigator award for outstanding work in drug delivery; the Andreas Acrivos Award from the AIChE, and the Technology Review Young Inventor award (TR35) for technological innovation.

News Type: 

Awards and Accolades